Traditional Chinese medicine (TCM) also known simply as Chinese medicine or traditional Oriental medicine, is the name commonly given to a range of traditional medical practices used in China that have developed over the course of several thousand years of history.


Chinese medicine principally employs a method of analysis and synthesis, inquiring on a macro-level into the internal systems of the human body and their mutual relationships with the internal and external environment in an attempt to gain an understanding of the fundamental laws which govern the functioning of the human organism, and to apply this understanding to the treatment and prevention of disease, and health maintenance.


TCM is rooted in a unique, comprehensive and systematic theoretical structure which includes the Theory of the Five Elements, the human body Meridian system and Yin-Yang. Treatment is conducted with reference to this philosophical framework. In modern days, TCM is broken down into five branches. Most TCM practitioners use modalities from either one or two of the five branches during a treatment session, and give the patient enough information about the other modalities in case there is interest. The five branches of Chinese Medicine are:


1. Acupuncture

2. Chinese herbology

3. Tui Na

4. Qi Moving Excercises

5. Nutrition

Jaime DeGuzman, L.Ac, Acupuncture, Cupping, Moxibustion, Aroma Acupoint, NADA Protocol, Rocklin, Roseville, Lincoln, Sacramento, Citrus Heights, Bilingual, Español